Praises and truths

Reading Psalm 118 this morning. I am reminded again by David just how faithful and righteous our God is, even when I am not. The passage is full of praises and truths.

I love only because He has taught me to live by loving me first. His love never ceases.
Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
    his love endures forever.

When I have been in turmoil and cried out, He has been there to walk with me through the storm. When I have stumbled, He been there to catch me when I fall.
Out of my distress I called on the Lord;
    the Lord answered me and set me free.

When I faced uncertainty and called on Him, Christ calmed my anxiety with His promise to never leave me. When I suffered through terrifying nightmares in my sleep when I was younger, He answered my cries, calmed my fear, and gave me peaceful rest.
The Lord is with me; I will not be afraid.
    What can mere mortals do to me?

It is indeed better to seek refuge in a God who is forever bigger than man or his problems than to look for solace in something or someone whose time and knowledge is fleeting.
It is better to take refuge in the Lord
    than to trust in humans.
It is better to take refuge in the Lord
    than to trust in princes.

By His mighty hand and loving grace, I have and will continue to withstand the slings and arrows of those who seek to harm me.
10 All the nations surrounded me,
    but in the name of the Lord I cut them down.
11 They surrounded me on every side,
    but in the name of the Lord I cut them down.
12 They swarmed around me like bees,
    but they were consumed as quickly as burning thorns;
    in the name of the Lord I cut them down.

I sing not to only calm and entertain myself, but my song is to Him in praise and thanks.
15 Shouts of joy and victory
    resound in the tents of the righteous:
“The Lord’s right hand has done mighty things!

I have lived through the trials and tribulations of life and come out on the other side knowing now that He disciplines in love and righteousness.
18 The Lord has chastened me severely,
    but he has not given me over to death.

I stand today filled with the joy and anxiety of a child on Christmas morning in the knowledge that He has prepared a place for me where I will love and praise Him forever. 19 Open for me the gates of the righteous;
    I will enter and give thanks to the Lord.
20 This is the gate of the Lord
    through which the righteous may enter.

He is my God and I will thank Him and praise Him forever.
29 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
    his love endures forever.

About Kelly Edwards

I joined our men's Thursday PK group in 2004. We've done Bible studies on everything from prayer to discerning God's will. The studies have been huge in developing my walk with Christ as well as my understanding of the Bible. But just as important is that I have found a group of guys who love one another unconditionally, lift up and support one another unendingly and ultimately provide a level of Godly accountability that is impossible to achieve on your own. For that, I am foreve grateful. Thank you, God, for leading me to this group of Godly men. Amen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment